I LOVE VALENTINE’S DAY

Valentine

Real talk: Valentine’s Day is one of my top five favorite holidays. What’s not to love about a day that celebrates and encourages pink and baking? I’m notorious for putting together elaborate tablescapes and themed breakfasts for my family and have been known to send boxes of cookies to friends.

This year is no exception and I’ll be trying some new recipes out for my bros in different area codes.

Fake Cupcake Cookies:
If you’re ever been to a grocery store, I’m sure you know about cupcake cookies. Those puffy things near the bakery with seasonally appropriate frosting and sprinkles? Well now you can make them at home. I modified this recipe by using frosting from a tub instead of making my own, but I’m sure homemade buttercream would be just delightful. If you go my route, be sure to get the frosting that comes with sprinkles on top to make things even easier.

IMG_2312

Whole Wheat Oatmeal Chocolate M&M Cookies:
I kind of followed this version but also made a lot of changes. I halved the original recipe and added cocoa powder to come up with a cookie that sounds healthy but probably isn’t. Basically I was looking for an excuse to use those Valentine’s M&Ms.

IMG_2307

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/4 – 1/2 bag M&Ms

What to do:

  • Heat oven to 350 F
  • Cream butter and sugars
  • Add egg and vanilla extract
  • Add flour, baking soda, baking powder, cocoa powder and mix until well combined
  • Add oats and mix again
  • Throw in as many M&Ms as you want, enough to make sure you’ll have a few in each scoop
  • Scoop rounded tablespoons of dough onto lined cookie sheets
  • Bake 10-12 minutes
  • Let cool on cookie sheet for a few minutes, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely

Oh, this is a day for celebrating love and relationships you say? Fuck you no it’s not. I love me and I love my friends and I love cookies so that’s what I’m celebrating. I encourage you to grab a glass of wine and watch Bravo/Downton Abbey until you fall asleep.

IMG_2316

Leave a Reply

